“The Yooks are going whole-hog”

Seems it is more public now that the Yooks are hijacking Russian drones. It is of course actively hacking into their avionics, which in some cases shows launching position, but also, and this is probably not public, they found that some Russian drones still use a firmware version they also use. In addition they have popped the firmware code on ones that are not. This has been pretty significant, and will become a bigger deal if the Russian’s have to stand-down their drones for an update to keep their own weapons from being used against them.

I had not heard that at all, wow. What’s the firmware origin, China?

I am not sure. The copy I have is agnostic per where written, but the code line annotations are in Cyrillic. The copy I have also uses an origination waypoint to help insure return to launch point.

That is not needed so much, since if you can hack the avionics, you can trace origination.

Obviously you can active signal a return to launch, but that also creates issues for you.

There was a report that Russia was planning a large buy of drones from Iran. If that report was true, I wonder if Ukrainian hacking was the reason.

Supply is likely a large factor, but a device with a different firmware is probably in-play as well. I wonder if the US has some version of the Iranian firmware…

Lemme ask a guy.

Even if the US has an older version, that can be used to predict pretty accurately an upgrade that would solve a visible issue.

Is the both sides using the same firmware OK to put on the blog?

I think the Yooks are EPROMing their similar stuff to a new firmware, and the Yooks use a lot of Turkish drones that are different. But, yeah it seems to be public. Someone said a video was published showing some Russians hauling ass after their drone was hijacked. Supposedly an article has also been written about it. As long as it is more-or-less public I have no issue.


In anticipation of a possible heavy attack that moves us west, we are also planting mines and location beacons to make their possible occupation of this area a deadly hell.

Also putting in a lot of command operated mines that can be activated by drones or personnel. This saves wasted contact stuff. Proximity mines are also being used.

Command operated mines activated by drone operators, that’s pretty novel.

But quite simple to do. It is a digital radio signal from a SDR xmitter in the drone, this allows selectivity.

I imagine you have to hack some kind of receiver into the mine? Most command detonated mines use an electric trigger, right?

These are mines with triggers designed by the Yooks. Any old mine will work, but mainly larger ones. The trigger is battery powered and uses an electric cap to detonate.

The Russians have no idea the extent of the sabotage infrastructure that us holding the lines ( on territory the Yooks are grudgingly willing to give) is allowing to be placed. This is one of the reasons, among many, that they are trying to get civilians out of here.

It is a form of warfare where you plan your enemy’s mistakes, then do not interrupt them while they are making them.

It sounds like the area is being turned into a funhouse of lethal explosions. It just seems pointless from the Russian perspective to continue the war. Bakhmut is only a major battle because the Russians are in such poor condition. Even if they take it, then what? There are 300 towns like it across Ukraine they’d have to take next. It would take a decade at this point to win. It’s this mindset of thinking you can still win the game that makes me think only total Ukrainian victory is a viable goal.

What is happening here will be taught in western military colleges in the future. The question is, will they also be taught in a Putin-controlled, thus possibly filtered Russian system?

The Yooks are going whole-hog. They fully intend to push the Russian’s back, and take back Crimea. Can they? hell yeah. If it goes nuke, then we have a different ball game to play.

I may go back on the Mil lecture tour. Is a possibility. Not that I have any great strategic sense of things, but a good infill on the local, tactical issues.

I mean, just being a 76 year old guy talking about fighting on the front line is going to sell tickets.

The problem with wars, at less than the strategic level, is from a tactical standpoint, they are almost impossible to predict. The tactical level is largely what has driven the pace of this war. It is a case where tactics have defined strategy.

The Yooks are very worried about the Russians going nuclear. They know, like I do, that the US will not respond in kind unless the US itself is in danger of the same attack format. I think this is also the Russian thought.

I am off to find something to eat. All I have with me is water, a few beers, some blueberry cookies and chewing gum. Right now we have no support per that area, so will have to barter for something different…or, I walk too far to battalion. We are at self-named “Outpost Asshole.” The good thing is we have good tree cover, it is not wet, and seemingly is not on the Russian slate for artillery targeting,

Good eating!


Right now I would trade my wealth of water, a few beers, some blueberry cookies and chewing gum for almost anything savory edible.

I do have some good old C4 to build a fire, so even a Russian thigh muscle might work. Most of the potential donors are a bit ripe for consideration.

Russian long pork.

I have not eaten Spam for years, but back then, crumble it up with eggs and peppers and fry.

Pretty much the only time I eat it is as spam musubi, a Hawaiian Japanese invention. Basically a slice of cooked spam laid on rice wrapped with seaweed. The salty savory of the spam and the bland taste of rice. Often the spam is basted in teriyaki sauce to add sweetness.

That sounds heavenly right now.

A Spam/egg biscuit is also good. Even better with mustard.

Spam musubi is far better than it has any right to be, especially since it includes spam.

I might actually give-up my own left nut for some Spam. It is for all practical purposes useless anyway.

After Spam, I got on a canned chicken spread kick. It is full of fat, but tastes good. It is good on crackers, bread or just spooned out if you are starving.

I had a mother-in-law who was a bit of a Spam expert. She used to make a Spam cake that was amazing, especially considering it had pineapple in it.

Are we talking a cake in the conventional sense, or…I have no idea what an alternative might be. Like a meatloaf?

More like a meatloaf.

Right now what I really miss is fragrant cheese, steak, buttermilk and fried potatoes. Go figure.

Ok, now I have talked myself into starvation, so I may have to go beat the shit out of someone for some decent food.

Later, good to talk to you as always.

Yep. When I get home to a kitchen and a grocery store I may end-up weighing 300 Lbs. Later.